You are viewing a membermojo help page. Take a tour to see what we do.

Automated Membership Processing

membermojo will automatically keep members updated during all stages of membership.

Joining - PayPal payment

When a member completes application and pays with PayPal they are sent a full Welcome Pack. This will include:

  • Confirmation of membership details and PayPal transaction
  • Your covering text
  • Any attachments you have added
  • If enabled, a membership card image (many cards if a multi-member membership)

The member is now active and an entry is added to the Activity Log.

Joining - offline payment

You can accept any form of offline payment (e.g. cash, cheque, bank transfer) and provide instructions for making it on the Organisation Settings page. When offline payment has been chosen the member will receive the same Welcome Pack but without membership card.

At this point the member is in a pending state and their payment will show on the Pending Payments page.

When the payment is received the administrator clicks Paid then Save on the Pending Payments page. The member receives an email confirming receipt and attaches a membership card if enabled. The member is now active.

If time passes and no payment is received, the administrator can click Cancel then Save on the Pending Payments page. The member receives an email indicating the membership application has been cancelled.

All of these events are recorded in the Activity Log.

Approaching expiry

In addition to any reminders you send to your membership there are three system generated emails:

  1. An optional renewal notice sent 28 days before expiry. This is off by default.
  2. A renewal reminder sent 9 days before expiry.
  3. A second renewal reminder sent a week after the first.

The renewal notice can be enabled and emails edited from the Settings / Welcome Pack & System Email page.

To suppress these emails for individual members set the System Email field to No expiry or No expiry or 28 day. This is useful if members use automated payments such as standing orders and should not be reminded.

Renewing

Memberships can be renewed Renew in advance months before the expiry date. (see Organisation Settings page).

Renewal communication follows the same pattern as joining. By default a member receives the same Welcome Pack as a new joiner. This can be changed using the Settings / Welcome Pack & System Email page.

When a member renews, their new expiry date is set once payment has been received. If payment is not received by the current expiry date the member will be moved from active to pending to indicate they are no longer a paid member.

If a member renews an Elapsed membership before the expiry date the new membership term is added to the existing expiry date. This means there is no penalty for renewing early.

Expiry

The member record is expired the day after the expiry date and an entry is made in the Activity Log. Expired member records are retained for a number of months (set on Settings / Organisation) and can be viewed on the Member List page. Once expired the member will not be sent group mail by default and will not have access to their Your Membership page. A member can renew whilst expired using their existing details.

Members are sent an email at expiry, which can be edited using the Settings / Welcome Pack & System Email page.

An optional Membership Recently Expired email can be sent 28 days after expiry to encourage members to renew. This is enabled and edited on the Settings / Welcome Pack & System Email page.

To suppress these emails for individual members set the System Email field to No expiry or No expiry or 28 day.

Late renewals

Settings on the Settings / Organisation page control late renewal processing.

  • Extend previous membership period for late renewals. Applies to Elapsed memberships. If a member renews late but before this number of months has passed the membership restarts from the expiry date. This prevents late renewals gaining periods of free membership.
  • Waive joining fee for late renewals. Applies to memberships with a Joining Fee. If a member renews late but before this number of months has passed the joining fee will be waived. After this period the joining applies.

Deleted

Once the expired member retention period has passed the record is either removed or archived.

Archived

Archiving is off by default but can be enabled on the Settings / Organisation page. All active and expired member records that are manually or automatically removed are archived and kept for 10 years.

When enabled, archived member records can be downloaded from the Expired Member List page.

Mail Merge for Members without email

If the system cannot send an email because the member has no email address an entry will be created in the Activity Log.

Use the Mail Merge for Members without email page to search these activities and download matching member details for mail merge in applications like Microsoft Word.


membermojo Help

cMxozpGbg8hQA9nKUcyVCkequbIWrjveCgICPypj