When a member completes an application and pays online they are sent a Welcome Pack. This will include:
The member is now active and an entry is added to the Activity Log.
You can accept any form of offline payment (e.g. cash, cheque, bank transfer) and provide instructions for making it on the Offline Payments page. When an offline payment has been chosen the member will receive the same Welcome Pack but with payment instructions and no membership card image.
At this point the member is in a pending payment state and their payment will show on the Pending Payments page.
An administrator marks the payment as Paid on the the Pending Payments page when the money is received. The member receives a Payment received email confirming receipt and attaches a membership card image if enabled. The member is now active.
If time passes and no payment is received, an administrator can Cancel the payment from Pending Payments. The member receives a Payment Cancelled email indicating the membership application has been cancelled.
All of these events are recorded in the Activity Log.
Each member has an Expires on field that controls when their membership will be expired. If enabled membermojo will send automated reminder emails as that date approaches.
To suppress these emails for individual members set the member's System Email field to No expiry or No expiry or 28 day. This is useful if members use automated payments such as standing orders and should not be reminded.
Memberships can be renewed a number of months before the expiry date. (set on the Membership Settings page).
Renewal follows the same pattern as joining. By default a member receives the same Welcome Pack as a new joiner. A renewal welcome pack can be enabled from the Welcome Pack & System Email page.
When a member renews, their new expiry date is set once payment has been received. If payment is not received by the current expiry date the member will be moved from active to pending to indicate they are no longer a paid member.
If a member renews an Elapsed membership before the expiry date the new membership term is added to the existing expiry date. This means there is no penalty for renewing early.
Once expired the member will not be part of the 'All Members' group and will not have access to their Your Membership page. A member can renew whilst expired using their existing details.
An optional Membership Recently Expired email can be sent 28 days after expiry to encourage members to renew.
To suppress these emails for individual members set the System Email field to No expiry or No expiry or 28 day.
Settings on the Membership Settings page control late renewal processing.
Once the Keep Expired Members for period has passed the member is removed from Expired Member List and either deleted or archived if enabled.
Archiving is off by default but can be enabled from the Organisation page.
All member records that are manually or automatically removed are archived and retained for the period defined under Organisation History.
Archived member records cannot be viewed online, but can be downloaded from the Expired Member List page.
If all your members expire on the same date you can use Member Groups & Mailing Lists to email all your members any number of days before expiry.